Promoting Canadian Oats

In the interest of security, directors’ personal e-mail addresses are no longer listed on the POGA website. To contact a board member, please send your email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. and it will be forwarded to the board member, as requested. We apologize for any inconvenience.

The following are the AOGC Board of Directors for the current year:

Brad Boettger, Chairman
49519A Range Road 184
Beaver County, Alberta T0B 4J3
Phone: 780-340-4091

Darwin Trenholm, Vice-Chairman
PO Box 268, Newbrook, AB T0A 2P0
Cell: 780-914-1643

Nick Jonk, Audit Chair
PO Box 5609, Westlock, AB T7P 2P6
Phone: 780-349-5458
Cell: 780-349-0483

Gordon Pope
Box 272, Ryley, AB T0B 4A0
Phone: 780-663-3929
Fax: 780-663-3929

Bruce Thomi
RR 1, Woking, AB T0H 3V0
Cell: 780-897-2153

Anthony Van Rootselaar
Box 35, Spirit River, AB T0H 3G0
Cell: 780-864-1846

Shawna Mathieson, Executive Director
PO Box 20106
Regina, SK S4P 4J7
Phone: 306-530-8545
Fax: 866-286-1681


The Alberta Oat Growers Commission currently has six members on its board of directors. AOGC members are also encouraged to let their names stand for director positions. Benefits of being a director for AOGC include:
  • Identify and direct research for the benefit of the entire industry;
  • Increased industry knowledge;
  • The opportunity to meet a large number of influential millers, buyers, and government officials across the province, nation and globally;
  • Increased information sharing with other growers to learn what other farmers are doing and have experienced;
  • Increased industry knowledge;
  • Professional development;
  • Reimbursement for all travel, honorariums for time spent on the commissions’ projects and committees.
Please contact the POGA office for information on how to express interest.


Industry News