MOGA Governance & Regulations


The Manitoba Oat Growers Association (MOGA) is regulated under The Agricultural Producers’ Organization Funding Act in Manitoba and monitored by the Manitoba Farm Products Marketing Council. Council members are appointed by and accountable to the Manitoba Minister of Agriculture and Resource Development. MOGA is governed by The Oat Growers Association Designation Regulation.

Election Process

MOGA is governed by six farmer directors who are democratically elected by levy payers to ensure the Commission’s strategic priorities are effectively executed by MOGA staff. Director responsibilities include board meetings, plus participation on various committees and all directors are automatically a member of the Prairie Oat Growers (POGA) Board of Directors.

Elections for the MOGA Board of Directors are held every two years. Farmers who have paid an oat levy within the two years prior to an election and not requested a refund are eligible to run in the election. Interested producers can contact the POGA office to express interest and obtain the necessary forms for completion. Directors are elected for a four-year term and are eligible to run for a maximum of three consecutive terms.

Annual General Meeting

The MOGA Annual General Meeting (AGM) takes place each year in February unless there are extenuating circumstances. The AGM welcomes new directors in election years and includes the appointment of the accountant for the upcoming year reporting on the financials and activities of the past year as part of the annual report.

The AGM is a great opportunity for levy payers to ask questions or bring forward any resolutions (a formal motion requesting that MOGA take action on a particular activity or issue). If a producer is interested in bringing a resolution forward to the AGM, please contact the POGA office at least 30 days in advance for further information.