Promoting Canadian Oats


Times and agenda topics subject to change due to COVID-19 — for updates check Please RSVP to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. to ensure enough food is ordered. There is no charge for this event.

*Please note: a 30-day notice for resolutions is required at the Alberta Oat Growers Commission’s Annual General Meeting. Please send any resolutions to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. no later than 5pm Dec. 28, 2020.

Alberta Oat Growers Commission Director Nominations Open

Are you interest in becoming a director or do you know someone who is? Here are just a few of the benefits:

  • Identify and direct research to benefit of the entire industry.
  • Increase industry knowledge.
  • Opportunity to meet influential millers, buyers and government officials provincially, nationally and internationally.
  • Information sharing with other growers.
  • Professional development.
  • Reimbursement for all travel and honorarium for time spent on Commission projects and committees.

A registered producer means any producer who has had an Alberta Oat Growers Commission service fee deducted since August 1, 2018.

Deadline for nominations is Thursday, December 10, 2020 - 5pm MT.

For nomination forms and further information, contact: AOGC Administration Office, PO Box 20106, Regina, SK S4P 4J7

Telephone: (306) 530-8545

Fax: (866) 286-1681

Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

About AOGC

Alberta has become the third leg of a process which the Prairie Oat Growers Association (POGA) sees as a way to finalize a prairie-wide entity funding oat research, market development and education. The Alberta Oat Growers Commission (AOGC) was established by the provincial government in July 2012, to begin collecting a 50 cents per tonne levy on all Alberta-grown oats marketed commercially. Collection began on August 1, 2012.

"The Alberta Oat Growers Commission is a big step for oat producers in our province," added Gordon Pope, Director of the Alberta Oat Growers Commission Steering Committee. "Until now, an organization dedicated to the specific needs of Alberta’s oat growers didn’t exist. The new commission will work with our partners in Saskatchewan and Manitoba on initiatives that will benefit the western Canadian oat industry as a whole."

While oats are one of the last of the major grains to create an advocacy and research organization, the funding support from Alberta oat growers, (through a check-off of less than 1 cent per bushel), will have a major impact on the future of the industry.
POGA was launched in 1998 by oat growers from the three prairie provinces and continues to act as an umbrella agency, coordinating activities with and through SODC , MOGA and now AOGC

All Alberta oat growers who pay into the service fee (also known as a check off) are welcome to attend the annual general meeting (AGM) of the Prairie Oat Growers Association, and the AGM of the Alberta Oat Growers Commission.

AOGC members are also encouraged to let their names stand for director positions. Benefits of being a director for AOGC include:

  • Identify and direct research for the benefit of the entire industry;
  • Increased industry knowledge;
  • The opportunity to meet a large number of influential millers, buyers, and government officials across the province, nation and globally;
  • Increased information sharing with other growers to learn what other farmers are doing and have experienced;
  • Increased industry knowledge;
  • Professional development;
  • Reimbursement for all travel, honorariums for time spent on the commissions’ projects and committees.

Please contact the POGA office for information on how to express interest.

Also see: